TEMC is hosted by ATEM & TEFMA

Professor Deborah Terry

Professor Deborah Terry was appointed Curtin University’s Vice-Chancellor in February 2014 and is a Fellow and the immediate pastPresident of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia (ASSA), as well as Deputy Chair of the Board of Universities Australia.  She is also on the Board of the Committee for Perth, St Hilda’s Anglican School, Australia and New Zealand School of Government and AARNET, the provider of Australia’s network infrastructure for education and research, and a past Chair of the Australian Council of Learned Academies and the Australian Research Council’s College of Experts in the Social, Behavioural and Economic Sciences.

Professor Terry completed her PhD in Social Psychology at the Australian National University in Canberra. She had a distinguished career at the University of Queensland, initially as an internationally recognised scholar in psychology, before progressing through a number of senior leadership roles, including Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor.  She was made an Officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AO), the country’s highest honours system for achievement and service, in June 2015 for distinguished service to education in the tertiary sector.